In 2016/17 Carousel

Won

Awards

More than

people came to a Carousel performance

Reached an audience of more than

people online

Delivered talks and workshops to

people

Carousel believes that learning disabled artists make a vital contribution to the world we live in. It is an organisation that puts learning disabled people in control of their art; in film, music, performance and production. Carousel challenges expectations of what great art is and who can create it. Our work is planned, managed and delivered by learning disabled teams and 50% of our Board members have a learning disability.

Whilst many of our artistic activities are programmed for the years ahead, there are ways to get involved with our work as an artist or volunteer, as audience or as a supporter. See the What We Do pages and discover the Oska Bright Film Festival, our new online graphic novel Curing Perfect, multi-media performance Creatures of the Revolution and Creative Minds, the national conversation about learning disability arts.

 

Learning disabled leaders, governance and achievements

Carousel helps learning disabled artists develop and manage their creative lives, true to their voice and vision. For over thirty years we have been enabling learning disabled people to do the things you take for granted. It is a small organisation doing a huge amount; raising the profile of learning disabled art, disrupting the status-quo and enriching the lives of everyone it touches.

Years providing world class support

Find out more about us in our 16-17 Annual Review

Read now

Our Staff

Liz Hall

Liz Hall

Director

liz.hall@carousel.org.uk
Gareth Evans

Gareth Evans

Senior Producer Music

gareth.evans@carousel.org.uk
David Parker

David Parker

Senior Producer Film and Digital

david.parker@carousel.org.uk
Lizzie Banks

Lizzie Banks

Oska Bright Festival Producer

lizzie.banks@carousel.org.uk

Gus Garside

Gus Garside

Creative Minds National Co-ordinator

info@creativemindsproject.org.uk
Sam Dook

Sam Dook

Carousel Singers Band Producer

sam.dook@carousel.org.uk
Dave Lavis

Dave Lavis

Spoken Word Producer

dave.lavis@carousel.org.uk
Lisa Wolfe

Lisa Wolfe

Marketing Manager

marketing@carousel.org.uk

Rosie Blackwell-Sutton

Rosie Blackwell-Sutton

Marketing Co-ordinator

rosie.blackwell-sutton@carousel.org.uk

Hanneke Koekkoek

Hanneke Koekkoek

Office Co-ordinator

enquiries@carousel.org.uk
Staff Illustrations by Sarah Watson

Carousel Trustees

Carousel is proud to have 50% of its Board positions, including the Chair, held by learning disabled people.

Patron: Lord Bassam of Brighton
President: The Mayor of Brighton and Hove

Our Trustees are:

Sarah Watson, Chair
Nick Jenkins, Secretary
Pauline Wild, Treasurer

Becky Bruzas
Diane Chandler
Claire Offley
Fran Reynolds
Derek Swindells
Jolene Wild

Carousel’s First Aid training is provided by FirstAid, Brighton’s local First Aid provider. If you would like to book a First Aid at work course, click here to see what they can offer.